Jayro Bustamante’s second film, TREMORS, will premiere during the Berlin International Film Festival, in the Panorama section. The director received the Silver Bear in 2015 with his previous film IXCANUL.

TREMORS follows Pablo, an evangelical Christian and father of two wonderful children in the city of Guatemala. But while he suddenly falls in love with a man, his world begins to collapse when is family decide to “cure” him through a therapy with the help of the church.

Written and directed by Jayro Bustamante, including Juan Pablo Olyslager, Mauricio Armas Zebadúa, Diane Bathen and María Telón, TREMORS is a co-production between Guatemala (La Casa de Producción), France (Tu vas Voir, Memento Films Productions, ARTE France Cinéma) and Luxembourg (Iris Productions).

The production was supported by l’Aide aux Cinéma du Monde, the Centre National du Cinéma et de l’Image Animée, the Institut Français, the Film Fund Luxembourg, the Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine, the Cinergiafund and the Gan Fondation.

Film Factory Entertainment handles the international sales.

Le second film de Jayro Bustamante, TREMBLEMENTS, sera projeté en avant-première mondiale dans le cadre du Festival international du film de Berlin, dans la section Panorama. Le réalisateur avait obtenu l’Ours d’Argenten 2015, avec son précédent film IXCANUL.

TREMBLEMENTS suit la vie de Pablo, un chrétien évangélique et père de deux enfants dans la ville de Guatemala. Mais alors qu’il tombe soudainement amoureux d’un homme, son monde commence à s’écrouler lorsque sa famille décide de le ‘‘soigner’’ par le biais d’une thérapie avec l’aide de l’église.

Ecrit et réalisé par Jayro Bustamante, avec notamment Juan Pablo Olyslager, Mauricio Armas Zebadúa, Diane Bathen et María Telón, TREMBLEMENTS est une coproduction entre le Guatemala (La Casa de Producción), la France (Tu vas Voir, Memento Films Productions, ARTE France Cinéma) et le Luxembourg (Iris Productions).

La production a bénéficié du soutien de l’Aide aux Cinéma du Monde, du Centre National du Cinéma et de l’Image Animée, de l’Institut Français, du Film Fund Luxembourg, de la Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine, du fond Cinergiaet de la Fondation Gan.

Film Factory Entertainment s’occupe des ventes internationales.